top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRyan Osborn

The War Within: A Wounded Warrior Romance by Barb Simmons.

Updated: May 25, 2021

“A wounded soldier with a wounded soul and a beautiful woman with a strong will and a mind of her own.”


This month, I’m reviewing “The War Within.” The first book in Barb Simmons’ Wounded Warrior Series. Rarely have I ever found a story that hooked me and dragged me along kicking and screaming to the very last sentence, as this one did. I got so caught up in the story of Former Marine Raider Mike Ramos, and Vivian March, I nearly missed my bus stop on the city bus. Not that I would have minded too much as it would have given me an extra hour to get enveloped in their story.

I would like to also say a big HUGE thank you to Barb Simmons for writing this story. The hero Mike has seen combat, and not only did his body take a major hit, so did his mind and soul. Facts that also affect many of our brothers and sisters who served or currently serve in the armed forces. Sadly many of our brothers and sisters in the armed forces don’t get the help they desperately need. I appreciate that Simmons wrote this story with a gentle caring eye for the hero as he struggles through his demons to become the man that he needs to be to win the heart of the only woman who ever stirred his soul. Not only is this a romance, but it’s also a story of hope, and redemption and I hope that everyone gets a chance to read it. Along the way, he meets fellow veterans who help him on his road to healing and self-acceptance.

I’m also impressed by the heroine Vivian. Having grown up with a grandfather who served in and survived in Vietnam, there is nothing that Mike can do that can scare her away. Try as he might. Her beauty, her strength of character, and her enduring support of our hero break the mold when it comes to strong and dedicated women. I’m truly looking forward to more from Barb Simmons, as I hear there is a second book in this series due out soon.

Intrigued? Read “The War Within”, the first book in the Wounded Warrior Series by Barb Simmons, by clicking the image below.




77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Welcome to my Blog

Hi, there. Welcome to my blog. Here I will be reviewing my favorite genre of books, Romantic Suspense Thrillers. About once a month, I'll be doing a new one out on release. Please keep in touch an

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page